Since its foundation, the Institute of Maltese Journalists (originally set-up as The Malta Press Club – TMPC) has endeavoured to upgrade journalism in Malta. Ethics, together with Education and Professionalisation, were identified as the three principles the IĠM should pursue to achieve this objective.

In November 1991, following various meeting between The Malta Press Club and the now defunct Institute of Broadcasters, a code of journalistic ethics was launched, following approval by the members of both organisations. That Code, launched during a press conference on 11 November 1991, provided for the setting up of the Journalistic Ethics Council, which was to be the precursor of the present Press Ethics Commission (PEC).

In February 1996, a policy document prepared by TMPC’s Education and Information Secretary, Carmel Bonello, was presented during a seminar for all Maltese journalists. Among others, this document put forward new concepts for the promotion of journalistic ethics, including guidelines for submission and handling of complaints, as well as for a revision of the former Journalistic Ethics Council. The document suggested the setting up of a body called the Press Ethics Commission (PEC) and its composition.

The new PEC became operational in January 1999 under the chairmanship of Notary Myriam Spiteri Debono. In 2001, the Chief Justice Emeritus, Professor Giuseppe Mifsud Bonnici, was appointed Chairman. In 2009 Dr Kevin Aquilina succeeded him.Dr Aquilina resigned last year and Dr Kevin Dingli succeeded him in June 2010.

Click here for the PEC website.

PEC members 2012


Dr Kevin Dingli


Mr Joe C. Cordina


Fr. Colin Apap

Mr. Tony Barbaro Sant

Dr Claire Bonello

Mr Frans Camilleri

Mr Michael Caruana

Mr Lawrence Grech

Mr John Inguanez

Dr Anna Mallia

Cav. Martin Micallef

Ms Joanna Spiteri


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.