Malta Journalism Awards TrophyDate: 25 March, 2014

The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM) announced the names of the 40 finalists who reached the final stage among the 70 participants who took part in the annual journalism competition, the Malta Journalism Awards.

This is the 24th consecutive edition that the Institute of Maltese Journalists is organising. Over the years, this competition has grown and today there are 16 categories. Several leading institutions and companies sponsor the Malta Journalism Awards year after year. Among these are HSBC Bank Malta plc, the Broadcasting Authority, The Farsons Foundation, Malta International Airport plc, the Good Causes Fund, SmartCity Malta, the Malta Tourism Authority, GreenPak Coop Society Limited and the Sammut family.

For the first time this year, the companies Crystal Finance Investments Ltd and Hamilton Travel have joined the other sponsors with their support and assistance to enable these awards to be organised.

The jury of this edition chose these finalists, listed below in alphabetical order.

Print Journalism – News

sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta plc

Robert Cremona

Kim Dalli

Victor Vella


Print Journalism – Features

Noel D’Anastas

Sarah Carabott

Patrick Cook


Press Photography

sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Joseph Galea

Ian Noel Pace

Darrin Zammit Lupi


Travel Journalism

sponsored by Hamilton Travel

CVC Media

Paul Zammit Cutajar


Broadcast Journalism – Television Script – News

sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

 Ruth Castillo

Keith Demicoli

Mario Micallef

Broadcast JournalismTelevision Script – Features

sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Reno Bugeja/Mario Micallef

Robert Cremona

Bijografiji Team


Broadcast Journalism – Film

sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

CVC Media

Xarabank Team


Broadcast Journalism – Radio

sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Andrew Azzopardi

Keith Demicoli


Cultural Journalism

sponsored by the Malta Tourism Authority

CVC Media

Ramona Depares

Nigel Mifsud


Sports Journalism – Print

sponsored by Crystal Finance Investments Limited

Kevin Azzopardi


Sports Journalism – Broadcasting

sponsored by the Good Causes Fund

Peter Cossai

Chris Micallef

TV Hemm


Sports Photography

sponsored by Malta International Airport plc

Domenic Aquilina

Paul Zammit Cutajar

Darrin Zammit Lupi



sponsored by SmartCity Malta

Catherine Aquilina

Alan Deidun

Karl Wright


Opinion Articles

sponsored by the Sammut Family

Tonio Bonello

Ramona Depares

Michela Spiteri

Environment Journalism

sponsored by Green Pak Coop Society Limited

CVC Media

Alan Deidun

Edward Duca


It is important to be aware that there need not be a winner in each category, even if there is one finalist in a particular category.

The jury is preparing its detailed report on the submissions and their level of journalism, which will be made public on the final night when the awards are presented. The composition of the jury will also be announced on the day.

This year the presentation ceremony will be held on Saturday, 3 May, 2014, at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

The winner of the Best Use of the Maltese Language in Journalism category will be announced during the presentation evening. This category is sponsored by the Kunsill Nazzjonali tal-Malti.

During the same ceremony the winner of the Gold Award will also be announced. This honour is given to a person following a nomination before a jury that considers that he/she went beyond the normal required practices of journalism during his/her career. The Gold Award is sponsored by the Tumas Fenech Foundation for Education in Journalism, has been presented since 1998.