IĠM launches the 24th edition of the Malta Journalism Awards

Malta Journalism Awards TrophyThe Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM) launched the 24th edition of the annual press awards, known as the Malta Journalism Awards, with 15 categories. Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments may select and submit entries that they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/s, irrespective of whether that journalist belongs to the same newsroom or not. Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies.

In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/s concerned by filling the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to submission of entry by the Editor, Head of News Department, or organisations/corporations/bodies.

“The Institute of Maltese Journalists is this year celebrating its 25th anniversary and we are planning for the Malta Journalism Awards to be, as in previous years, a highlight of the activities of the year. I urge all members of the media to submit their work so that the Awards will be a showcase of the very best in local journalism,” said IĠM chairman Malcolm J. Naudi.

The 15 categories are:

Print categories:

Print Journalism – News – sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c.

Print Journalism – Features 

Photo Journalism – sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Broadcast categories:

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script News – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Film – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – Radio – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast categories:

E-Journalism – sponsored by SmartyCity Malta

General categories:

Sports Journalism Print

Sports Journalism Broadcasting

Sports Photography – sponsored by Malta International Airport p.l.c.

Travel Journalism

Cultural Journalism – sponsored by the Malta Tourism Authority

Opinion Articles – sponsored by the Sammut Family

Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism – Sponsored by the Kunsill Nazzjonali tal-Ilsien Malti

This year’s edition of the Gold Award is once again being sponsored by Fondazzjoni Tumas Fenech għall-Edukazzjoni fil-Ġurnaliżmu. More details about this particular award will be announced at a later date.

Following recommendations by previous judging panels, the Institute draws the attention of journalists to the following points:

a)     only coverages that were made overseas by the journalist concerned are to be submitted in the Overseas Assignment category;

b)    in the Broadcast TV Script and Broadcast Radio categories, all submissions are to be accompanied by the respective script;

c)     the same journalistic work or the same series can only be submitted in one category;

d)    journalists are to put forward their submissions in a presentable manner; and

e)     in selecting their best work, journalists shall seek to submit the most ethical work and avoid submitting material that only serves sensationalism.


The first three classified in each category will receive a certificate.

The winner of the first 14 categories above will each be awarded:

a)     a cash prize of €200;

b)    a certificate; and

c)     the Malta Journalism Awards trophy for the respective category.

The winner of the special category entitled ‘Il-Lingwa Nazzjonali fil-Ġurnaliżmu’ will be presented with the Malta Journalism Award trophy for that category.


Announcement of Finalists

The Finalists will be announced at a Ceremony on Monday, 24 March, 2014.

Presentation Ceremony

The Winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony to be held on Saturday, 3 May, 2014, at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

All Maltese journalists may participate

All Maltese journalists may participation in the Malta Journalism Awards, irrespective of whether they are IĠM members or not. All entries, whether in Maltese or English, must have been published or broadcast in Malta between 1 January, 2013, and 31st December, 2013.

Closing Date

Submissions will be received at the offices of the Institute of Maltese Journalists, 280/3 Republic Street, Valletta, on Monday, 11 February 2014, between 9.30 a.m. and 12.00 p.m. (noon).

Non-members have to pay a participation fee with the submission.

Regulations and applications may be obtained either by phoning Mr Joe Vella on 21 316958/ 9945 0746, Mr. Roderick Agius 99471549 or from this website:  IGM AWARDS 2014 APPLICATION IGM AWARD 2014 REGULATIONS