GO sponsors Features category – Print Journalism Malta Journalism Awards

News conference organised jointly by GO plc and Malta Journalism Institute (IĠM) from left – Yiannos Michaelides, Chief Executive Officer, GO plc, Malcolm J. Naudi, IĠM Chairman and Joe A. Vella, General Secretary, IĠM

News conference organised jointly by GO plc and Malta Journalism Institute (IĠM) from left – Yiannos Michaelides, Chief Executive Officer, GO plc, Malcolm J. Naudi, IĠM Chairman and Joe A. Vella, General Secretary, IĠM

GO – Malta’s leading communications and entertainment provider – has teamed up with the Institute of Maltese Journalists (IGM) and is sponsoring the Print Journalism – Features category of the 23rd edition of the Malta Journalism Awards (MJA). The Awards are organised on an annual basis by the Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM). There are 16 categories in all and the Features category (Print Journalism) is the most competitive among the awards and focuses on rewarding journalists whose work, published in the previous calendar year, contributed to the enhancement of the journalism profession in Malta.

Feature journalism is considered as high-value quality journalism and, in the wake of fierce competition from online news sites; it plays a very important role in today’s news industry covering both newspapers and magazines. In contrast to ‘hard news’ stories that report the latest breaking news, feature stories are ‘soft news’ and are popular content elements of newspapers, magazines and more. Feature writers give their readers information in a more entertaining format. Readers just love feature articles in that they take an in-depth look at a subject.

Speaking about the newly set up partnership between the two entities during a news conference held at GO Head Offices in Marsa, GO Chief Executive Officer, Yiannos Michaelides said: “We are proud to team up with the Institute of Maltese Journalists and become partners of the prestigious Malta Journalism Awards 2013. It gives us immense satisfaction to be supporting the IGM in its drive to recognise quality journalism here in Malta and reward high minded investigations, outstanding talent and expertise on the part of participants who belong to the local media community.”

“The partnership is strongly in line with GO’s commitment to encourage and develop the expression of local talent in its varying forms towards improving the quality of life for the community in which it operates,” he said

IGM Chairman, Malcolm J. Naudi, welcomed GO on board and said that GO will be joining forces with various official bodies and private/public companies sponsoring the Malta Journalism Awards. “Thanks to the support from these entities, IGM is in a strong position to raise the standard of journalism in the local scenrio giving a boost to readers’ ‘feel-good’ experience and at the same time providing a unique platform to promote journalistic skills and acumen for the local newscasters and correspondents. There is not doubt that, as in previous years, MJA participants will do Malta proud and score high in the different categories.”

Since its inception in 1990, the Malta Journalism Awards event has grown in stature and now showcases the sophistication and professionalism of journalism in Malta. The IGM received 56 submissions from local journalists and other media professionals for participation in this year’s edition of the Malta Journalists Awards.

The nominees for the Print Journalism – Features category this year are Lino Bugeja (Sunday Times), Kristina Chetcuti (Sunday Times), Claudia Calleja (Times), Chris Peregin (Times) and Clinton Sammut (In-Nazzjon).

The first three classified in each category will receive a certificate. The winner of the first 15 categories will be awarded a cash prize of €250, a certificate and the Malta Journalism Awards trophy for the respective category. The winner of the special category entitled ‘Il-Lingwa Nazzjonali fil-Ġurnaliżmu” will be presented with the Malta Journalism Award trophy for that category.

The Finalists will be announced on Friday, 31 May, 2013 at SmartCity Malta sponsors of the eJournalism category. Award Winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony to be held on Saturday, 15 June 2013 at The Palace Hotel, Sliema. During the same evening, the Gold Award will be announced. The Award of the Gold Award is sponsored by the Tumas Fenech Foundation for Education in Journalism (FTFEG) and rewards outstanding contribution to the journalism profession that goes beyond the normal call of duty