Press Release 05/2012
Date: 02 February 2012

22nd edition of Malta Journalism Awards
There are only two days left for the submission of material for the 17 categories for the 22nd Edition of the Malta Journalism Awards (MJA) on Saturday, 4 February, 2012.

Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments may select and submit entries of what they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/s, irrespective of whether that journalist belongs to the same newsroom or not.

Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies. In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/s concerned by filling the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to the submission of the entry by the Editor, Head of News Department, or organisations/corporations/bodies.

For this year’s edition there are three new categories. The Broadcasting Authority has accepted to sponsor a new category, Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features, enabling the broadcast category to be split into two: news and features.

Similarly, Sports Journalism has been split into print and broadcasting, with the Good Causes Fund retaining the broadcast category and Middlesea Insurance plc sponsoring the print category.

Promoting Inter-Cultural Dialogue, which is sponsored by the Media InterAct Project, a joint venture between the IÆM, SOS Malta and PBS Ltd, with European Union funding, is a brand new category.

These are the 17 categories:

Print categories

Print Journalism – News – sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c.

Print Journalism – Features – sponsored by Vodafone Malta Ltd

Photo Journalism – sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Broadcast categories

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script News – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Film – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – Radio – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority


E-Journalism – sponsored by SmartCity Malta

General categories

Travel Journalism – sponsored by Emirates Airline

Sports Journalism Broadcasting – sponsored by the Good Causes Fund

Sports Journalism Print – sponsored by Middle Sea Insurance p.l.c.

Sports Photography – sponsored by the Malta International Airport

Cultural Journalism – sponsored by the Malta Tourism Authority

Opinion Articles – sponsored by Family Sammut

Environment Journalism – sponsored by Green Dot Malta

Promoting Inter-Cultural Dialogue – Media InterAct Project

Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism.

All Maltese journalists may participation in the Malta Journalism Awards, irrespective of whether they are IÆM members or not.

All entries, whether in Maltese or in English, must have been published or broadcast in Malta between 1 January, 2011, and 31 December, 2011.

Submissions for the 22nd edition of the MJA will be received at the offices of the Institute of Maltese Journalists, Suite No. 120 (Third Floor), 280 Republic Street, Valletta, on Saturday, February 4, 2011, between 1.30 p.m. and 4.00 p.m.

Non-members of the Institute will be charged an entry fee of €50.00.


Regulations and applications may be obtained either by phoning IÆM Secretary Joe A. Vella on 2131-6958/9945-0746 or by downloaded them from the IĠM website.