Press Release 02/2012
Date: 12 January 2012

The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM) will be receiving nominations for the Gold Award 2012. Submissions will be accepted from individual persons, associations, organizations or institutions.

Individuals cannot nominate themselves, but everyone is free to submit to the IĠM an individual, group of persons, association, organization, or institution, if in his or her opinion, the nomination qualifies for the Gold Award.

The Gold Award is sponsored by the Tumas Foundation for Education in Journalism (FTFEĠ).

The aim of the Award is to give recognition:

(a) To a Maltese person, residing in Malta, with a long career and vast experience in journalism and whose contribution goes beyond the requisites of normal professional practice; or

(b) To an association, organization, institution or a group of persons that gave an outstanding contribution for the development of journalism.

This is the fifteenth year in which the Gold Award is being awarded. The award is in addition to the annual Malta Journalism Awards (MJA) which recognizes achievements by an individual journalist on specific contributions of the previous year.

Deadline for submissions

Submissions will be accepted up till Monday, 13th February, 2012.

The nominations must include all relevant details (e.g.: details of the achievements over the years; letters of reference; biography of the nominee) as well as the reason or reasons for the submission of the nomination.

The winner will be chosen by a panel of judges chaired by the President Emeritus Dr Edward Fenech Adami.

Nominations are to be submitted to Joe A. Vella, Secretary, IGM, Third Floor, 280, Republic Street, Valletta; or 146/5 Howard Street, Sliema, SLM 1759.

Past Winners

1998 – Fr Joe Borg; 1999 – Anton Cassar; 2000 – Frank Attard; 2001 – J.G. Vassallo; 2002 – Anthony Montanaro; 2003 – John Manduca; 2004 – Charles Grech Orr; 2005 – Paul Carachi; 2006 – Paul Saliba; 2007 -Lino Cassar; 2008 – Joe Micallef Stafrace; 2009 – Lino Spiteri; 2010 – Victor Aquilina; 2011-Michael Schiavone.