IGM launches 22nd edition of Malta Journalism Awards

Press Release 01/2012
Date: 7 January 2012

The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM) launched the 22nd edition of the annual press awards, known as the Malta Journalism Awards (MJA), on Saturday, 7 January, 2012, with 17 categories.

Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments may select and submit entries of what they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/s, irrespective of whether that journalist belongs to the same newsroom or not.

Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies. In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/s concerned by filling the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to the submission of the entry by the Editor, Head of News Department, or organisations/corporations/bodies.

“The Malta Journalism Awards are undoubtedly the most prestigious awards for the local media and over the years members of the media from all media organisations have taken part.

“This is a source of great pride for the Institute of Maltese Journalists, which has proved time and time again that it can be a unifying force in local society,” said IGM chairman Malcolm J. Naudi.

“This year we have three new categories. The Broadcasting Authority has accepted to sponsor a new category, Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features, enabling the broadcast category to be split into two: news and features.

“Similarly, Sports Journalism has been split into print and broadcasting, with the Good Causes Fund retaining the broadcast category and Middlesea Insurance plc sponsoring the print category.

“Promoting Inter-Cultural Dialogue, which is sponsored by the Media InterAct Project, a joint venture between the IGM, SOS Malta and PBS Ltd, with European Union funding, is a brand new category.
I take the opportunity to thank all the sponsors, especially those who have supported the awards for a long number of years.”

These are the 17 categories:

Print categories
Print Journalism – News – sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c.

Print Journalism – Features – sponsored by Vodafone Malta Ltd

Photo Journalism – sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Broadcast categories

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script News – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Film – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – Radio – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

E-Journalism – sponsored by SmartCity Malta

General categories

Travel Journalism – sponsored by Emirates Airline

Sports Journalism Broadcasting – sponsored by the Good Causes Fund

Sports Journalism Print – sponsored by Middle Sea Insurance p.l.c.

Sports Photography – sponsored by the Malta International Airport

Cultural Journalism – sponsored by the Malta Tourism Authority

Opinion Articles – sponsored by Family Sammut

Environment Journalism – sponsored by Green Dot Malta

Promoting Inter-Cultural Dialogue – Media InterAct Project

Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism.

This year’s edition of the Gold Award is being sponsored by the Fondazzjoni Tumas Fenech ghall-Edukazzjoni fil-Gurnalizmu (FTFEG). More details about this particular award will be announced at a later date.
Following recommendations by previous judging panels, the Institute draws the attention of journalists to the following points:

only coverages that were made overseas by the journalist concerned are to be submitted in the Travel Journalism category;
in the Broadcast TV Script and Broadcast Radio categories, all submissions are to be accompanied by the respective script;
the same journalistic work or the same series can only be submitted in one category;
journalists are to put forward their submissions in a presentable manner including a synopsis on every news story; and
in selecting their best work, journalists shall seek to submit the most ethical work and avoid submitting material that only serves sensationalism.

The first three classified in each category will receive a certificate.

The winner of the first 15 categories above will each be awarded:
a cash prize of €350;
a certificate; and
the Malta Journalism Awards trophy for the respective category.

The winner of the special category entitled ‘Il-Lingwa Nazzjonali fil-Gurnalizmu’ will be presented with the Malta Journalism Award trophy for that category. The winner of the Maltese category will not receive a cash prize but will be offered a specialised course in the Maltese language.
Announcement of Finalists

The finalists will be announced on Monday, 26 March, 2012, at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

Presentation Ceremony

The winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony to be held on Saturday, 5 May, 2012, at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

Eligibility of submissions

All Maltese journalists may participation in the Malta Journalism Awards, irrespective of whether they are IGM members or not.

All entries, whether in Maltese or in English, must have been published or broadcast in Malta between 1 January, 2011, and 31 December, 2011.
Closing date for submissions

Submissions for the 22nd edition of the Malta Journalism Awards will be received at the offices of the Institute of Maltese Journalists, Suite No. 120 (Third Floor), 280 Republic Street, Valletta, on Saturday, February 4, 2011, between 1.30 p.m. and 4.00 p.m.

Non-members of the Institute will be charged an entry fee of €50.00.

Regulations and applications may be obtained either by phoning IGM Secretary Mr Joe A. Vella on 2131-6958/9945-0746 or by downloaded them from the IGM website.