IĠM launches 21st edition of Malta Journalism Awards

Press Release: 01/2011

Date: 8 January 2011

The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IGM) launched the 21st edition of the annual press awards, known as the Malta Journalism Awards (MJA), with 14 categories. Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments may select and submit entries of what they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/s, irrespective of whether that journalist belongs to the same newsroom or not. Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies.

In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/s concerned by filling the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to the submission of the entry by the Editor, Head of News Department, or organisations/corporations/bodies.

“I am convinced that there are many journalists and media professionals who look forward to the Malta Journalism Awards and last year’s record number of over 80 submissions is a testament to this,” said IGM chairman Malcolm J. Naudi.

“If you have submitted work in the past but failed to win an award, I urge you not to give up but to try again with fresh, exciting submissions. The jury changes every year but there is always continuity from one year to the next. So, I encourage all journalists to show what they are worth. Being a finalist is already a big achievement.”

The 14 categories are:

Print categories:

Print Journalism – News – sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c.

Print Journalism – Features – sponsored by Vodafone Malta Ltd

Photo Journalism – sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Broadcast categories:

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – TV Film – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

Broadcast Journalism – Radio – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority


E-Journalism – sponsored by SmartyCity Malta

General categories:

Travel Journalism – sponsored by Emirates Airline

Sports Journalism – sponsored by the Good Causes Fund

Sports Photography – sponsored by the Malta International Airport

Cultural Journalism – sponsored by Malta Tourism Authority
Opinion Articles – sponsored by Family Sammut

Environment Journalism – sponsored by Green Dot Malta

Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism

This year’s edition of the Gold Award is being sponsored by Fondazzjoni Tumas Fenech ghall-Edukazzjoni fil-Gurnalizmu (FTFEG). More details about this particular award will be announced at a later date.

Following recommendations by previous judging panels, the Institute draws the attention of journalists to the following points:

  • only coverages that were made overseas by the journalist concerned are to be submitted in the Travel Journalism category;
  • in the Broadcast TV Script and Broadcast Radio categories, all submissions are to be accompanied by the respective script;
  • the same journalistic work or the same series can only be submitted in one category;
  • journalists are to put forward their submissions in a presentable manner including synopsis on every news story; and
  • in selecting their best work, journalists shall seek to submit the most ethical work and avoid submitting material that only serves sensationalism.


The first three classified in each category will receive a certificate.

The winner of the first 13 categories above will each be awarded:

  • a cash prize of €350;
  • a certificate; and
  • the Malta Journalism Awards trophy for the respective category.

The winner of the special category entitled ‘Il-Lingwa Nazzjonali fil-Gurnalizmu’ will be presented with the Malta Journalism Award trophy for that category. The winner of the Maltese category will not receive a cash prize but will be offered a specialised course in the Maltese language.
Announcement of Finalists

The Finalists will be announced on Monday, 21 March, 2011, at the Palace Hotel, Sliema.

Presentation Ceremony

The Winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony to be held on Saturday, 7 May, 20101 at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

All Maltese journalists may participate

All Maltese journalists may participation in the Malta Journalism Awards, irrespective of whether they are IGM members or not. All entries whether in Maltese or in English must have been published or broadcast in Malta between 1 January, 2010, and 31 December, 2010.

Closing Date

Submissions for the 21st edition of the Malta Journalism Awards will be received at the offices of the Institute of Maltese Journalists, 280/3 Republic Street, Valletta, on Saturday, February 5, 2011, between 12:00 noon and 3:00 pm. Non-members of the Institute will be charged an entry fee of €50.00.

Regulations and applications may be obtained either by phoning Mr Joe A. Vella on 2131-6958/9945-0746 or downloaded from the IGM website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.