IĠM launches 20th edition of Malta Journalism Awards

The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IGM) launched the 20th edition of the annual press awards, known as the Malta Journalism Awards, today with 14 categories.

Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments/News Editors may select what they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/contributor and submit entries irrespective of whether that journalist/contributor belongs to the same newsroom or not. Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies.

In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/contributor concerned by filling in the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to submission of the entry by the Editor, Head of News Department/News Editor, or organisations/ corporations/bodies.

“With this 20th edition, the IGM has reached an important milestone. The Institute has proved to be a reliable partner to the many official bodies and private/public companies who have sponsored these awards over the years,” said IGM chairman Malcolm J. Naudi.

“I am convinced that thanks to these press awards, the IGM has played an important role in raising the standards of journalism in this country. We have a huge pool of talent that is mobilised each year to showcase the best work and the MJA has is that showcase.”

The 14 categories are:
Print categories:
Print Journalism – News – sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c.
Print Journalism – Features – sponsored by Vodafone Malta Ltd
Photo Journalism – sponsored by The Farsons Foundation

Broadcast categories:
Broadcast Journalism – TV Script – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority
Broadcast Journalism – TV Film – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority
Broadcast Journalism – Radio – sponsored by the Broadcasting Authority

E-Journalism – sponsored by SmartyCity Malta

General categories:
Travel Journalism – sponsored by Emirates Airline
Sports Journalism – sponsored by the Good Causes Fund
Sports Photography – sponsored by the Malta International Airport

Cultural Journalism – sponsored by Malta Tourism Authority
Opinion Articles – sponsored by Family Sammut
Environment Journalism – sponsored by Green Dot Malta
Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism

This year’s edition of the Gold Award is once again being sponsored by the Fondazzjoni Tumas Fenech ghall-Edukazzjoni fil-Gurnalizmu. More details about this particular award will be announced at a later date.

Following recommendations by previous judging panels, the Institute draws the attention of journalists to the following points:

a)only coverages that were made overseas by the journalist concerned are to be submitted in the Travel Journalism category;
b)in the Broadcast TV Script and Broadcast Radio categories, all submissions are to be accompanied by the respective script;
c)the same journalistic work or the same series can only be submitted in one category;
d)journalists are to put forward their submissions in a presentable manner, including a synopsis on every news story. Any submission of inferior quality can be disqualified; and
e)in selecting their best work, journalists shall seek to submit the most ethical work and avoid submitting material that only serves sensationalism.

The first three classified in each category will receive a certificate.
The winner of the first 13 categories above will each be awarded:
a)a cash prize of €350;
b)a certificate; and
c)the Malta Journalism Awards trophy for the respective category.

The winner of the special category entitled ‘Il-Lingwa Nazzjonali fil-Gurnalizmu’ will be presented with the Malta Journalism Award trophy for that category.

Announcement of Finalists
The Finalists will be announced in March 2010 at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

Presentation Ceremony
The Winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony to be held in May 2010 at The Palace Hotel, Sliema.

All Maltese journalists may participate
All Maltese journalists may participation in the Malta Journalism Awards, irrespective of whether they are IGM members or not. All entries whether in Maltese or in English must have been published or broadcast in Malta between 1st January 2009 and 31st December 2009.

Closing Date
Submissions will be received at the offices of the Institute of Maltese Journalists, 104, Old Mint Street, Valletta, on Friday, 29th January, 2009, between 4.00 and 7.00 p.m. Non-members have to pay a participation fee with the submission.

Regulations and applications may be obtained either by phoning IGM Hon. Secretary Joe A. Vella on 2131-6958/9945 0746 or from the website: http://www.maltapressclub.org.mt.